Wednesday, 6 August 2008

Music is Magic/Cuts Through Silence Like a Knife

Love it or hate it, Hellblazer-meets-Simon-Reynolds comic book Phonogram is coming back:

(Make with the clicky to see the above preview properly.)

I loved 'Rue Brittania', the first Phonogram mini-series, so I'm properly excited about this. If you haven't read that first story yet, go check out this 10 page preview and see what you think. I'm not sure if it was music criticism as drunken anthropology or vice versa, but it was full of woozy, mournful regret, and Jamie McKelvie's modish (pop) art was like a fanzine dream come true, so... yeah, it was ace!

Here's how series writer Kieron Gillen described the upcoming 'Singles Club' arc to the denizens of Barbelith:
“The history of a battle, is not unlike the history of a ball…”
The Duke of Wellington

Our second mini-series is seven issues long and picks up just over a year after Phonogram: Rue Britannia. It’s a somewhat different beast.

It’s on a single night. To be precise: December 23rd 2006.

In a single nightclub. To be precise: Never On a Sunday, a all-girl-music nightclub in a tiny room above an ancient Bristol pub.

And each of the part follows the evening of one of the seven, single phonomancers – or, at least, people in the world of phonomancers. Some you’ll know from the first series, but most will be unfamiliar. David Kohl’s in it, but isn’t one of the lead characters – though Emily Aster and Kid-with-knife are.

Oh – and while there’s interlinking events and similar structural fanciness, each of the stories all stand alone as a single chapter. If you’re familiar with comics and want a reference… well, while the first series was Hellblazer’s protagonist-on-quest, the model here is Brian Wood and Becky Cloonan’s Demo. In fact, I’m a little annoyed Wood got “Demo” as a title, as it’d have been a good title for this series. Most of the cast are much younger than Rue Briannia’s. While Kohl’s problem was identity related to the past, most of theirs are wrestling with the problems with identity and the future.

And trying to get off with each other, obv.

There’s more to the mini-series than the main arc, however. The main story is a sixteen-page Fell-sized story. We’re having back-up stories every issue from artists who we’ve talked into contributing to the project. Clearly, these stories will stand alone too, and we’ll reveal who’s doing them nearer the time. The remaining pages of the issue will be packed with the usual rants, letters, glossaries and even – assuming we have room – interviews with some of the bands who inspired certain episodes.
There's more info on the new series back in the rest of Gillen's post.

Consider yourselves warned!

No comments: